Uncategorized

The Breakfast Club

I write to you today from a place of victory.  After weeks of maintaining my weight and small loses I claimed my first sizable loss tonight, my first in almost 2 months. Would you like to know what the real victory is? After 8 weeks filled with celebrating and mourning, during which I hardly tracked, I maintained my weight.  Having a loss tonight was wonderful but realizing I am capable of holding onto my success through such a challenging time is elating.  It makes me believe what I have been telling myself since my journey began- this is not a diet but a lifestyle change.

Tonight I am going to share two breakfast recipes that have been favourites in our home.  It is important to note how seriously our family takes breakfast, it is hands down our favourite meal of the day.  We like breakfast foods so much we try to have it for dinner once a week.  These recipes have grown with us through my journey on Weight Watchers, over the months I have slowly cut out the oil and sugar/syrup to make them points friendly. No one has said anything yet so I am going to keep up with the modifications and hope they never read this.

My first recipe is oatmeal pancakes.  I discovered these when I was newly pregnant.  Even my hardest days of pregnancy couldn’t ruin this recipe for me.  The original recipe from allrecipes.com is about 6 points for 3 palm sized pancakes.  My current recipe is 3 smart points for the same serving.

1/2 cup whole wheat flour

1/2 cup quick oats

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 egg

3/4 cup butter milk (1tbsp vinegar and 1% milk, let sit while you measure other ingredients)

1 tsp vanilla

fruit (we really like it with ripe banana, grated apple or berries)

cinnamon

Mix all ingredients together, cook on non-stick surface. Should make about 12 pancakes (I use a large pampered chef cookie scoop to help me control my portion size).

 

I make this second recipe at least once a week.  Unfortunately, I can’t remember where the original recipe came from.  After a horrible baked oatmeal fail while pregnant I vowed to never try making it again.  After Bridget’s arrival, when things weren’t going well with nursing, I desperately tried everything to increase my supply.  Many wise Moms told me they loved baked oatmeal. Pushing aside my horrible pregnancy oatmeal memories I braved ahead and discovered this jem of a recipe.  It didn’t increase my supply but it sure made my tummy happy.

1 cup rolled oatsIMG_0178

3/4 tsp baking powder

3/4 tsp ground cinnamon

1 cup milk
1 egg lightly beaten

1 tsp vanilla

2-3 ripe bananas

1 cup berries

Layer sliced bananas in the bottom of a lightly greased 8×8 pan (a double batch fits nicely in a 9×13).  In a bowl mix dry ingredients, spread evenly over bananas.  Mix all wet ingredients together and pour over dry ingredients.  Top with berries, bake at 350 for 35-40 min.  We love to switch up the fruit, it is lovely with peaches in place of the bananas. 3 smart points for a serving size of about 1 cup.  This recipe keeps well in the fridge and is great with yogurt.  I like to sprinkle nuts on top for some added protein.

On weekends Bridget and I often have a chance to cook breakfast together.  She is quickly out growing her counter top perch, it might be time for me to invest in a stool.IMG_0101Displaying IMG_0178.JPG

Hope you enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

