Weight Watchers

It All Started With a SmartOne…

I have been thinking about taking the plunge into blogging for a while but have never made the time for it.  With so many wonderful and exciting changes going on in our lives right now I decided to seize the moment and start sharing.  I have found a sense of community and belonging in reading about others lives that has given me the confidence and encouragement I have needed to keep moving forward on my journey.  Be it gardening, cloth diapers, parenting, faith or food I love a good read from the heart.

My first post is nothing groundbreaking, just sharing a recipe that I love.  I was going to write it all out in a Facebook post to share with my local Weight Watchers community, but decided to blog it so I could include more details, not to mention this will be far easier to share in the future.

With the recent changes to Weight Watchers one of my favourite SmartOnes (microwavable meal) increased in points from 7 to 10 for one serving.  Now don’t get me wrong, I love this rice but it certainly isn’t 10 points worth of love.  I had used the recipe before so my whole family could enjoy this meal without having to microwave 5 dinners but with my last batch I brought it to a whole new level.  Whenever I go to the trouble of making a meal that requires more than a few dishes I always try to make two, one for now one for later.  It keeps our whole family on track for healthy eating and budgeting.

Here is the link to the recipe. The original recipe is worth 8 points/serving of about a cup and a half. This is what the recipe has become in our home.  We have it down to 7 points for a larger serving.  Larger serving+less points=win

2 cups cooked brown rice (about 1.5 uncooked)

2 cups cooked black beans

1 cup corn

1 10 oz can no salt added diced tomatoes (we double the batch and just use one big can)

1 tsp low sodium taco spice (we LOVE the Epicure taco spice)

1 cup fat free sour cream

1 cup fat free salsa

2 cups diced/grated veggies

1 red onion diced

1 cup low fat Sharp cheddar cheese (I usually mix in a dash of taco spice with this as well.  I use sharp cheddar because you get more taste for less cheese)

Mix first 8 ingredients, and half the red onion, in a bowl.  Transfer into a lightly greased casserole dish.  Top with Cheese and remaining onion.  Bake at 350 for 30-40 minutes (we like crispy cheese).  Enjoy!

A few notes from my Kitchen:

We use brown or wild rice in place of the white rice. I hate cooking brown rice, I never have a full hour while prepping a meal to cook it.  Like I said above if I am going to go to the trouble of making it I may as well make a lot, my last batch I made one for dinner and three for the freezer plus a few lunch sized portions.

If you want to talk about inconvenient food prep, dry beans are a great place to start. As a part of trimming down our budget (and the size of my bum) we have started to buy dry beans in place of canned beans.  I never think to soak the beans and never have enough time to boil them so I often find myself at the last minute coming up with a new plan for dinner.  For my last big batch of rice I cooked up 2lbs of beans in the slow cooker while I cooked the rice, chopped the veggies, grated the cheese, and chased Bridget around.  I followed these instructions and was so impressed by the outcome.  I also have about 8 more cups in the freezer for easy use down the road.

For the veggies I use peppers and zucchini.  I also add diced celery and grated carrots to help bulk it up.

I don’t add olives because I dislike them immensely.  I hope Mat never reads this and discovers I have been holding out on him again.  He loves them,  I usually cook so I win.

Who knew I had so much to say about rice!

Enjoy,

Suzanne

Leave a Reply

